Despite being around for years now in Snapchat, the disappearing messages trend has begun picking up steam recently, as more and more messaging apps have been seen incorporating it into their platforms.
On November 12, Facebook announced their ‘Vanish Mode’ for Messenger, which, you guessed it, will have your messages disappear once you leave the chat.
Being able to turn on Vanish Mode looks to be easy. “To turn it on,” says Facebook in their announcement, “swipe up on your mobile device in an existing chat thread and you’re in vanish mode. Swipe up again and you’re back to your regular chat. That’s it!”
Of course, Messenger did allow you to have a time limit for your messages where they would delete automatically in its secret conversations option. In the Vanish Mode though, just swipe up to turn it on, and swipe up again to turn it off again.
Facebook says that this new mode is all about safety:
“We designed vanish mode with safety and choice in mind, so you control your experience. Only people you’re connected to can use vanish mode with you in a chat. Vanish mode is also opt-in, so you choose whether to enter vanish mode with someone. If someone takes a screenshot of your chat while you’re using vanish mode, you’ll be notified. And as always, you can block someone and report a conversation if you feel unsafe.”
Currently, Vanish Mode is currently available on Messenger in the US and “a handful of other countries.” It will come to Instagram in the US and other countries soon.
To keep yourself updated on the new mode, you can go here.
Source – Facebook Messenger