It was announced by Google that they are blocking searchers from accessing web sites that utilize deceptive download buttons. The way Google warns users is by using a big red warning screen after the user clicks on the search result that warns them that there is a “deceptive site ahead.”
Google has said that “we’re expanding Safe Browsing protection to protect you from such deceptive embedded content, like social engineering ads.”
Here’s how Google defines deceptive ads:
- pretend to act, or look and feel, like a trusted entity — like your own device or browser, or the website itself
- try to trick you into doing something you’d only do for a trusted entity — like sharing a password or calling tech support
Some examples of these ads include:
This news was originally covered back in February, but Google decided to repost the news on the Webmaster blog again today.